What's new

upgraded to ios 7 and have a wi fi usage issue please help

john doe

Reaction score
i am still pretty new to the iphone ,only have it 6 months or less .my first smart phone .

i upgraded to ios 7 yesterday and ever since then my phone is using wi-fi without any input from me .i have turned alot of things off but it is still doing it .its doing it right now .

seems to happen most when the phone is resting and the lock screen is on .what the heck is it doing ??
this worries me because i only have 1gb of data usage and when i am away from home and not in a wi-fi area it will use my data to do whatever it is it is doing .

anyone else notice this??

it did not do this with ios 6.

so theres a 7.0.2 out already??my only issue is with it using wi-fi when i feel it should not be .i have turned many things off in a attempt to stop this but its still doing it .

i done a full backup of my phone before the upgrade to ios 7 .

ps- i have a 4s

If wifi is turned on, and you have data being fetched or pushed from sources, then the device will use its established connection to continue the data transfer. If you don't want wifi to fetch/pull data, turn if off when it's not in use.

always had wi-fi on when using ios 6 and it never used wi-fi so hard before .i will be keeping my eye on this .

what about push notifications?where can these be turned off?

Settings - notification center. Switch off whatever you don't want on. Then under each app listed make sure you have "none" selected under alert style.

Sent from my iPhone using iPF.net

ok, my phone only seems to do this funky thing with the wifi when its plugged in and charging .if i go over to the phone click the home screen ,then swipe to unlock ,a second later it stops using the wifi ....wtf?
never seen it do this on ios6.

and once i am unplugged i never see it using wifi either .strange

I don't understand how you know it is "using" wifi??