Unbrick iPhone 3GS?

Discussion in 'iPhone Unlocking' started by jak1192, Jun 22, 2012.

  1. jak1192

    jak1192 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have an iPhone 3GS running iOS 5 and baseband 5.16. After reading various blog posts and threads, I was told that in order to unlock it, I had to first upgrade it to the iPad baseband (6.15) and then downgrade it. Well, when I tried upgrading to 6.15, it took me halfway through the process and then said I had to first activate the iPhone. Not having a SIM card yet, I couldn't proceed. Now, WiFi doesn't work, Bluetooth doesn't work, calls, tons of things. The modem firmware is blank. The top left of the screen just says "Searching", and iTunes won't even recognize it. I think it may be bricked. Any suggestions?
     
  2. h2olover1

    h2olover1 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do you have a new bootrom? Because if ypu do your 3GS is bricked for good. Regardless of downgrade. Can you give me the 3,4,5 digits of your serial number.
     
  3. jak1192

    jak1192 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's new bootrom. Digits are 141
     
  4. h2olover1

    h2olover1 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sadly, your 3GS is bricked for good :/. The downgrade wont work as your modem is officially broken.
     
  5. Jmills87

    Jmills87 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    3,644
    Likes Received:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    The Land of Ice and Snow
    I'm afraid h2olover1 is correct. If your device was manufactured on or after the 35th week of 2011 you are not supposed to install the iPad baseband as it permanently bricks the radio. You will have to either replace the phone's mainboard or buy a new phone.
     
  6. Disturbedster

    Disturbedster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    nah man you dont have to buy a new one..... i have the same problem, 3 days ago i bought phones ( 3GS ) and i mistakely updated the baseband using redsnow and after looking at every forum or discussion about the 3gs there was one that said you can fix that problem by mounting a new baseband chip on the board, people commented that it worked for them but I personally haven't tried it, i would love to try it but each piece costs $58 plus shipping.... and i bought 2 3GS's.. so how ***Moderation Notice*** up you think i am.... :\
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 30, 2012
  7. Jmills87

    Jmills87 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    3,644
    Likes Received:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    The Land of Ice and Snow
    That's why I said he would either have to replace the mainboard or buy a whole new phone. A brand new 3Gs mainboard doesn't cost much more than $58 and it is far easier to replace the whole mainboard than to try and unsolder and resolder a new baseband chip.
     

Share This Page