Remove Jailbreak from iPhone5

Discussion in 'iPhone Help' started by dabonz, May 25, 2013.

  1. dabonz

    dabonz New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Hello,

    Just wondering fir future refrence if I have to put back my iPhone5 back to Apple Stock it says >>> put the device in DFU mode, and press the "restore" button.

    Question How do I put device in DFU mode << in iTunes

    Thanks
    Dabonz
     
  2. willerz2

    willerz2 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    7,663
    Likes Received:
    655
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    New York
    DFU mode doesn't have anything to do with iTunes unless you're using a DFU IPSW because either your home/sleep button is broken or both are broken. DFU mode is done by plugging your device into your computer, and performing physical button presses on the device highlighted here. The tutorial highlights turning off the device manually, then performing the commands. I personally prefer just having my device on my lockscreen or springboard, and just jumping straight into it rather than turning it off first.
     
  3. dabonz

    dabonz New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Ok Thanks for the info
     
  4. jimt29

    jimt29 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    18
    If you will no longer wish to jailbreak the phone just go to SETTINGS/General/Software Update. Update and you're done.
     
  5. willerz2

    willerz2 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    7,663
    Likes Received:
    655
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    New York
    Doing this will mess up your device on jailbroken devices. Evasi0n blocks all software update as well as Erase All Contents and Settings.
     
  6. jimt29

    jimt29 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Not so sure about that. I had done the Evasi0n jailbreak and did just as I indicated above and it worked like a charm. I had been on IOS 6.1.2. Was I just lucky?
     
  7. scifan57

    scifan57 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    24,758
    Likes Received:
    21,157
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Regina, Canada
    Which version if the evasi0n jailbreak were you using. OTA firmware updates were blocked in evasi0n version 1.2.
     
  8. jimt29

    jimt29 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Doesn't that ad a bit of complication into the mix. The latest version on my computer is 1.5 but I might have used an earlier version because I have every one up to 1.5. Is there a way to tell on the iPhone 5? It is still jailbroken with IOS 6.1.2.
     
  9. scifan57

    scifan57 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    24,758
    Likes Received:
    21,157
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Regina, Canada
    What you describe is simply not not possible with a jailbroken iPhone. If it worked for you, you've done something that nobody else has ever been able to do.

    scifan57; iPhone Forums Moderator
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2013
  10. jimt29

    jimt29 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Well I jailbroke my iPhone 5 and iPad 3 then some months later let the iPad do a software update and had no problems. Maybe its a iPhone/iPad difference that made it work? It was not OTA (Over The Air). It was via iTunes using a Windows 7 PC.
     
  11. scifan57

    scifan57 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    24,758
    Likes Received:
    21,157
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Regina, Canada
    That makes all the difference. You never previously mentioned that you update was done through iTunes, which is the only way you can update an iPad that's jailbroken.
     
  12. willerz2

    willerz2 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    7,663
    Likes Received:
    655
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    New York
    You pointed out Settings > General first, now you've changed it to iTunes.
     
  13. jimt29

    jimt29 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Very sorry. Getting old and forgetful. Just trying to help. 71 next birthday. Slowing down.
     

Share This Page