What's new

Re-Locking, Un-Jailbreaking, and returning iPhone 3GS to factory settings

justynvynn

Reaction score
Hi, I'm new to these threads,

I came here solely to find out if I could just remove Jailbreak and re-lock my iPhone 3GS. The baseband is unfortunately 06.15.00, and I want to return it to factory settings.
I was wondering if this was possible. I tried searching the forums before I posted but I didn't find anything that really gave me answer (So I apologize if theres another post about this.)

Everything I keep finding is downgrading baseband but keeping it unlocked, and usually it only works for the 3G.

Like I said I just want to return it to the boring iPhone 3GS, that's locked and not jailbroken, I'm tired of tethering the device, and I'm trying to sell it, so I doubt the new owner will want to tether it everytime.

I hope someone can help.

Thanks
Justyn Vynn

Will I still have to tether to turn the phone on, if I unjailbreak?

justynvynn said:
Will I still have to tether to turn the phone on, if I unjailbreak?

No... with the phone returned to factory settings there's no need to tether after the device rebooting.

Since you have the iPad baseband installed you can't really unjailbreak the device if you want to continue using it as a phone, since without unltrasn0w running you will simply get "No Service" all the time.
And furthermore, it will always be tethered if it is jailbroken, so a bit of a catch 22... :(

That's why you really need to heed the warnings about installing the iPad baseband on a phone. There are plenty of disadvantages, and this is for sure a big one!

justynvynn said:
Even with the baseband being 06.15.00?

Connecting to iTunes & updating the phone will update the firmware & baseband to the most recent Apple release. 5.0.1 Firmware & 04.11.08 baseband.

thomasjtsi said:
Connecting to iTunes & updating the phone will update the firmware & baseband to the most recent Apple release. 5.0.1 Firmware & 04.11.08 baseband.