What's new

Possible to Downgrade 5.1.1 to 5.1 on 4S?

kizer

Reaction score
I upgraded to 5.1.1 on my 4S and the battery drainage is driving me a bit bonkers. Both my wife and I's phone is obvious there is something going on. I didn't appear to have any issues with 5.1 and honestly I was really happy with performance and battery usage.

I'm rather new to IOS so any suggestions are very welcome.

I have an iPod touch instead of iPhone so my experience may be a bit different but I updated to 5.1.1 and my battery has been doing fine. Make sure your charger is meant for your device as using a charger for an iPad or laptop on an iPhone or iPod can damage the battery. Other than that I don't know what to tell you other than pay attention to if any specific apps drain the battery and turn the brightness lower...hope this helps!

You cannot state whether an iOS ha poor battery life until you do a cycle charge.

If you restored to 5.1.1...and the battery started draining real bad...that means *nothing*.

Let charge to 100%...then unplug and use it til it's about 20 to 10% battery life left. You must not plug it in at all during this time.

Then charge to 100% leaving it on charge for a good 2 hours after it reaches 100%....

Then unplug....NOW you will be able to truly tell if iOS 5.1.1 has brought poor battery life.

When I restored my iPod 4 to 5.1 the battery drained rapidly....then I did a full cycle charge and the battery was the best battery that iPod has ever had....

Tho I messed it up playing with it too much...so I downgraded back to 5.0.1 so I could have an untethered jailbreak.

Make sure your charger is meant for your device as using a charger for an iPad or laptop on an iPhone or iPod can damage the battery.
I don't believe this is the case. Everything I've read says that the two are interchangeable and one will not harm the other's battery. Charging the iPad with the iPhone charger takes longer, but neither will hurt the other AFAIK.