What's new

New 5C - iOS 7.0.4 - no Airdrop icon in control center

Status
Not open for further replies.

Niemander

Reaction score
Newbie here. Trying to figure out how to get the airdrop icon to show for my new iPhone 5C (iOS 7.0.4) - Verizon. I swipe the bottom of my screen to get the control center and there's no airdrop icon or buttons or anything. The only reference I can find anywhere in settings is under Sounds, where I can attach a tone to airdrop, but of course that doesn't do much good...

How do you turn on airdrop, or get the airdrop icon to show, or airdrop to activate on the 5C?

Since it's not grouped with the standard icons and doesn't look like them either, it's easy to miss it. Are you saying that you're not showing Airdrop in the location shown below? If not, you might try doing a hard reset.

$Airdrop.jpg

Last edited:
Since it's not grouped with the standard icons and doesn't look like them either, it's easy to miss it. Are you saying that you're not showing Airdrop in the location shown below? If not, you might try doing a hard reset.

View attachment 14398
Yeah, that's precisely the problem. A few of us in our office got new 5Cs a couple of weeks ago and mine is the only one that doesn't show what you've highlighted above. That entire line is missing on mine. I was hoping all I needed to do was turn something on to get it to show but I've checked everything I can in Settings and don't see any such switches...

Question then: what are the implications of doing a hard reset, if I decide to do that? It's not like I *need* airdrop - just frustrated with Apple's ideology that we're all somehow supposed to intuitively grasp how everything works. :)

Here's what my screen looks like (not from my iPhone, but an image I found on the web):

$1 iPhone no Airdrop.jpg

Btw - is it possible to capture screen shots on the iPhone?