What's new

Music App

rasmith1959

Reaction score
I drive trucks for a living, and as a result I listen to a lot of music. I put 1,000 songs on my iPhone to give me a good variety of music to listen to for a few days. I sync a smart playlist that removes recently played songs and replaces it with the least recently played songs. So the music on my phone is constantly changing. I do it this way because I don't have a lot of cellular data to burn, so streaming music is out of the question. Sure I could stream using WiFi, but I've yet to see a WiFi hotspot that covers a 75 mile area...

Along comes iOS 8.4.1 with a new music app that includes Apple Music, which I declined to use. Next thing I notice is that for some untold reason my cellular data use starts increasing. My first thought was that the wife who shares the data with me has been using more, but that wasn't the case as it was my phone using more data, not hers. So I start poking around trying to figure out why my phone was using so much data than before, and I think I've figured it out.

With the new music app with Apple Music there was also a new playlist called Purchased Music. This playlist shows all the music you've purchased from iTunes whether it's on your device or not. If there's a song that is in this list and it is on your device, then that copy is played, but if it isn't then it is streamed from the iTunes servers. Ok fine I can live with that, I just won't play that playlist or so I thought. Turns out that if you use a smart playlist not only will it play that list, it will also include any songs from the Purchased Music playlist that matches the smart playlist's criteria.

The fix is really simple, delete the Purchased Music playlist. Once that is done the only music that the phone see's is what is actually stored on the device.

Roy

Sent from my iPad Air using Tapatalk