What's new

Moving pictures?

ardchoille

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2012
Messages
4,361
Reaction score
2,070
Searched for this but didn't find what I needed. I've created a couple of folders in the photo app and want to move some pics out of Camera Roll to the new folder. I can see how to "add" pics to a new folder but can't figure out how to move pics out of camera roll and into a new folder. If I add pics from camera roll to a new folder and then attempt to delete them from camera roll the system seems to want to delete them from everywhere and I don't want that. Is this possible? Not jail broken.
 

Mickey330

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 12, 2011
Messages
1,845
Reaction score
363
Location
western NY state (USA)
Searched for this but didn't find what I needed. I've created a couple of folders in the photo app and want to move some pics out of Camera Roll to the new folder. I can see how to "add" pics to a new folder but can't figure out how to move pics out of camera roll and into a new folder. If I add pics from camera roll to a new folder and then attempt to delete them from camera roll the system seems to want to delete them from everywhere and I don't want that. Is this possible? Not jail broken.

Unfortunately, Apple's version of a folder for photos is a little ... different. When you put a phot into a folder,you are not actually moving the photo. You are making a link to it and the link sits inside the folder; the actual picture is still in the camera roll. That is why, if you delete a photo from the camera roll, it appears to delete it from everywhere (because you're actually breaking a link).

Sorry, but that's the way the app works. Hope this clarifies.

Marilyn
 
OP
ardchoille

ardchoille

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2012
Messages
4,361
Reaction score
2,070
Mickey330 said:
Unfortunately, Apple's version of a folder for photos is a little ... different. When you put a phot into a folder,you are not actually moving the photo. You are making a link to it and the link sits inside the folder; the actual picture is still in the camera roll. That is why, if you delete a photo from the camera roll, it appears to delete it from everywhere (because you're actually breaking a link).

Sorry, but that's the way the app works. Hope this clarifies.

Marilyn

Thank you, that explains a lot. And it helps me understand the system a bit better.
 

Latest posts

Top