What's new

Jailbroken and unlocked 5.0 w/ iPad 6.15.00 newb questions

mwalsh

Reaction score
A friend gave me his 3GS to jailbreak and unlock yesterday (he's off to Switzerland next week and wants to buy a local SIM for his visit). He thought he'd do me a favor and make sure he upgraded to the latest iOS first, so he upgraded to 5.0.1 (5.16.05 baseband) beforehand. Gee, thanks!

After unsuccessfully trying for like 6 hours to get a 4.3.3 ISPW restore past the iTunes 3194 error, I gave up on that and was lucky enough to get a signed 5.0 restore last night. I blew out the 5.16.05 baseband left over from 5.0.1 with redsn0w, replacing it with the iPad 6.15.00, installed Cydia, and then ultrasn0w to unlock. All appears well on the unlock side, which is all he really cared about.

However, as a complete newb (this is only my second jailbreak, and I think the first time I even used jailbreakme.com from my phone) I have some general jailbreak and iOS5.0 specific questions:

Jailbreak and tethering - I'm not understanding the boot behavior for jailbroken 5.0. I have read that the phone won't boot past the Apple if not tethered. But have alternatively read that tethering is just so programs requiring jailbreak (ie: non Apps Store ones, like Cydia) work? Which is correct, if either? I don't seem to be having any problems booting up untethered and Cydia still works.

Location Services - seem to interfere with both cellular and WI-fi signals on this phone. All is well with them turned off. Anyone else experience this? Any way around it?

iOS 5.0.1 - I'm not unconvinced that had I left 5.0.1 alone, and just performed the iPad baseband overwrite via redsn0w, I could have gotten to where I needed to be without going back to 5.0 (though I recognize I might have needed to tell redsn0w to manually use the 5.0 IPSW as the reference file for the jailbreak). Any thoughts?