What's new

jailbreaking 6.1 issues, help please.

Ashley91

Reaction score
let me just start this out by saying i'm not a technology expert but i've pretty much been jailbreaking since i got an iphone about 3 years ago, i've done jailbreaks on all different softwares and all of the multiple iPhone's i've had and NEVER have i had any issues. i've taught myself to use cydia and do all the basic things, but when it comes to all of the in-depth things (SHSH blobs, etc.) i'm a little lost in that category so a little help would be nice - but you may need to dumb it down a bit.

ANYWAY!
excited as everyone else that i could jailbreak my iPhone untethered this morning, i did just that using evasi0n. i updated my phone to iOS 6.1, went to the evasi0n website, downloaded the windows jailbreak, removed my passcode and (from what i thought?) jailbroke my phone properly. i've never had any problems using cydia - until today. EVERYTHING that i try to download... tweaks, apps, themes, everything regardless of the source is not working. i keep getting an error called "NetDB: Open nodename nor servername provided, or not known." i mean in the past i've had issues with random apps not working but never everything? if i download a source i also get the same error. (or something pretty similar.) i've never had issues with anything jailbreaking related. i've never had to restore my phone after an attempted JB, nothing. so i'm new to all of this troubleshooting. i read up on a random website that someone had the same issue so they rebooted their phone and it worked just fine. so i tried rebooting. when i rebooted - i got stuck on the apple logo for about 20 minutes then my phone just randomly rebooted as normal.

is there something i should have done differently during this jailbreak? any way to fix this without getting too complicated? is my phone going to stick on the apple boot logo for 20 minutes every time i try to reboot?