What's new

Jail Breaking procedure and reverting procedures - Getting it all straight.

Sagi

Reaction score
OK, so I just want you to correct me if I'm wrong here...

(I'm kinda new to the whole iPhone scene, I just got my iPhone 4 last friday)

It's like this:
  • I'm runing the 4.3 (8F190) firmware - stock (non-jailbroken)
    (I don't know the baseband version - how can I check it on a non-jailbroken iphone?)
  • My iPhone is factory unlocked. (Does it matter at any time what baseband do I have!?)
  • I have in my possession 4.3 and 4.3.2 firmwares.
  • I have in my possession 4.3 and 4.3.2 SHSH files.
  • And I also have redsn0w_win_0.9.6rc14.

And I just want to get this stright....

1) Now, currently, from my 4.3 stock version I can either...
  1. Update (trough regular iTunes) to a newer version (4.3.2)
  2. OR Jailbreak it making it "4.3 JailBroken".
  3. (Now correct me if I'm wrong) I cannot jailbreak it to stright to 4.3.2.

2) Next, suppose I JailBroken it to make it "4.3 JailBroken", my next options are:
  1. Restore (from iTunes) to the stock 4.3 non-jailbroken version.
  2. I assume I can NOT update straight to 4.3.2 non-jailbroken.
  3. I could update straight to 4.3.2 JB version.

3) Next, suppose I updated it stright to 4.3.2 JB version, my next options would be:
  1. "Restore" to 4.3.2 non-jailbroken.
  2. Restore to 4.3 non-jailbroken.
  3. But can NOT restore directly to 4.3 JB.

Am I missing something or did I get this right?
('cause it's a little confusing trying to take it all in - in just 5 days... also a bit hard without experimenting, I still haven't done anything to the system of the phone. Well, except saving my SHSH files - tough I don't believe that changes anything in the phone's system.)

I was waiting all this time so I could learn more about JB just before I actually do it.
Oh, I would also like to know how to BRICK the iPhone 4!?
If anyone knows please provide me with the information, thanks.

Basically it gets down to...