What's new

Is enabling 3G using data plan ?

issjakers

New Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2010
Messages
65
Reaction score
0
when i go under settings and network settings, and if i enable 3G what does it do and is it the data plan ?
 

Alude904

Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2010
Messages
450
Reaction score
16
It turns on your 3g connection. Yes that is enabling the data plan you have so you are using data. 3g is faster than edge so it uses up more data and battery. If 3g is turned off, you are always using edge by default. Normally, you cannot turn off edge.
 

Ferrari

New Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2010
Messages
240
Reaction score
1
So Edge isn't part of data plan?
Meaning I can turn off 3G and not worry about my 2gig data limit?
 

Ferrari

New Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2010
Messages
240
Reaction score
1
Oh good to know thanks

is there a way to stop Data at all?
 

DannyBoy

New Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2010
Messages
2,733
Reaction score
25
Location
Lubbock, TX
Oh good to know thanks

is there a way to stop Data at all?

Not besides airplane mode or remove the sim.... But just watch for the data spinner on the status bar. You can tell that way your using data. Also you can reset the network usage... My favorite is the AT&T app. Let's you view everything you use really quickly.
 

toulan

New Member
Joined
Aug 25, 2010
Messages
86
Reaction score
0
Oh good to know thanks

is there a way to stop Data at all?

Just go to Settings >> General >> Network and turn off Cellular Data

That should stop the phone from using your data plan, so whenever you wanna use it just turn Cellular Data back on.
 
OP
issjakers

issjakers

New Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2010
Messages
65
Reaction score
0
Oh good to know thanks

is there a way to stop Data at all?

Just go to Settings >> General >> Network and turn off Cellular Data

That should stop the phone from using your data plan, so whenever you wanna use it just turn Cellular Data back on.
i always do that i just wanted to know how often it uses it
 

Most reactions

Latest posts

Top