Iphone5 question plz

Discussion in 'iPhone 5' started by LilaMarie, Mar 24, 2016.

  1. LilaMarie

    LilaMarie Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2013
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I have switched my phone and gave my iphone 5 to my hubby. the phone has been activated already, but all of my contacts are still in the phone. how do I restore it to factory settings I guess would be the correct question.
    thanks
     
  2. J. A.

    J. A. Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Messages:
    17,926
    Likes Received:
    23,142
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Apetlon, Austria
    To restore the iPhone to factory settings, go to Settings - General - Reset, and select "Erase all Content and Settings".
     
  3. scifan57

    scifan57 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    21,727
    Likes Received:
    18,638
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Regina, Canada
    Before erasing the iPhone go to iCloud in settings and turn off Find My iPhone. Erase all Content and Settings won't work unless you do.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. LilaMarie

    LilaMarie Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2013
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    ok I did that and it did not delete my contacts. is there a way to delete them all at once? tyvm
     
  5. J. A.

    J. A. Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Messages:
    17,926
    Likes Received:
    23,142
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Apetlon, Austria
    Erasing content and settings will set back the iPhone to default, and remove everything that has been added before. If your contacts are still there, you did something else than erase the content.

    Here's the right procedure once more:
    On your iPhone, go to Settings - iCloud, and disable "Find my iPhone". You'll have to enter your iCloud ID's password, then it can be disabled.
    That done, go to Settings (still your iPhone), and there, go to General - Reset. Select "Erase All Content And Settings". This will remove every information from the iPhone: Wi-Fi, Apple ID, email addresses, contacts, apps that have been added, ...
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  6. LilaMarie

    LilaMarie Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2013
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    ok all done..tyvm for your help
     
  7. J. A.

    J. A. Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Messages:
    17,926
    Likes Received:
    23,142
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Apetlon, Austria
    You're welcome.
     

Share This Page