What's new

iphone 4 hell

bushypark

New Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2010
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Hello everyone im new to the forum..

Ok ive been trying to sort out this new iphone 4 i got as a present for the last two weeks. Im going to lay out everythng really clearly because its confusing.

I got the iphone and was told it was sim free so when i put my sim in it said put a sim in without a pin code but then it let me put the sim code in.

After i put the code in it said connect to itunes as normal.

when i conneted to itunes it said a message along the lines of " not a supported carrier"

So i finally decided to jailbreak the phone and hacktivated it using limerain then jailbroke with cydia. (i also clicked the make my life easier button)

after all this the phone still had no signal so i called my carrier and they said the sim is perfect.

After all this i found a piece of paper in the box seemingly form a store which read "invalid sim sim not being read" (the store is in a different country so i cant just go down)

this got me thinking the phone has a hardware problem so i went to an iphone "specialist" who said he doesnt think its the hardware the problem was i ddnt jailbreak it with the original sim card being in the phone.

after getting fed upwit it all i decided to call apple and I thought i should erase everything on the phone and bring it back to the way it was out of the box with it not being able to activate it.

little did i know my phone would get bricked.

so i got the ireb v4.0 to get it bakc and it worked howeer now when i connect it to the itunes it says you must recover it which will also upgrade the firmware form my current 4.0.2 to the 4.2.1 os which i dont want to do because the phone may actually be locked to a carrier and if i upgrade it to 4.2.1 i wont be able to jailbreak it.

Please someone give me some help because i have tried so many things including the recboot, the procedure where you downgrade your firmware by changing the host file (and you remove the .txt extension) in the etc file. also i have done everything perfectly but to no avail.

I would love someone to tell me what to do just to get my phone working but if not if someone could tell me how to get the phone back to its original settings without upgrading the firmware that woud be great.

I have worked my socks off trying to get it working and i hope you can tell because a few weeks ago i wouldnt have the faintest idead about jailbreaking or anyting about iphone.

Its a long thread but just wanted to get all the info together. Thanks
 

DannyBoy

New Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2010
Messages
2,733
Reaction score
25
Location
Lubbock, TX
Unfortunately if iTunes wants a restore your only option is to restore. You will just have too wait like many for the jailbreak and unlock. There is no way to downgrade...
 

iGaz

New Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2010
Messages
4,492
Reaction score
17
Location
Scotland, UK
So i finally decided to jailbreak the phone and hacktivated it using limerain then jailbroke with cydia. (i also clicked the make my life easier button)

If you clicked the make my life easier button in cydia when jailbroken on 4.0.2 then you should have your shsh blobs saved. This means you can roll back to 4.0.2 after you restore to 4.2.1. Don't ask me how do do this as I've never done it myself. The bad news is you will still be stuck on 4.2.1's baseband which is currently unlockable. There are ways to preserve basebands while upgrading firmware but I haven't done that either.

The way I see it is you've got four choices.

1. If you can preserve your baseband and your shsh blobs are saved. Restore to 4.2.1 while preserving your baseband by using a custom IPSW then roll back to 4.0.2

2. Restore to 4.2.1 then roll back to 4.0.2. You can then jailbreak again but not unlock.

3. Restore to 4.2.1 and use the jailbreak for that. Unfortunatly its a tethered jailbreak so personally I would go with option 1 or 2 if possible.

4. Restore to 4.2.1 and dont bother with the jailbreak as the last time you tried it you bricked your phone.

Whatever way you look at it you will have to upgrade to 4.2.1 before you can do anything else...
 
OP
B

bushypark

New Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2010
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Ok i managed to restore it to 4.1 os by using a custom ipsw. so now my phone is in the emergency screen.

whats the process now to get it to work bearing in mind the steps i took last time when i was on 4.0.2 os was hactivate wit limerain then download cydia. in cyda i it the make my life easier button. does that mean i can downgrade back from 4.1 0s to 4.0.2 os?? or should i not bother doing that?? after i installed cydia i had no signal with my carrier.

someone said in another forum you have to do something with ultra snow aswell to get it to work??

thanks
 

Mario

New Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2010
Messages
45
Reaction score
0
Go into settings and make sure that your baseband is still at 1.59.00.
If your baseband is that go in cydia and search for "Ultrasn0w" then install it.
After that reboot your phone( turn it off then on) & you should be all set after that !
 
OP
B

bushypark

New Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2010
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
my phone is at the emergency screen now. if i hactivate it with limerain and check the baseband will i be able to get it back to the emergency screen without having to update the firmware again?
 

Bobik

New Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2010
Messages
419
Reaction score
0
my phone is at the emergency screen now. if i hactivate it with limerain and check the baseband will i be able to get it back to the emergency screen without having to update the firmware again?


Plug in to itunes, download recboot v1.2 and execute it, it should kick it out
 
Last edited:

Mario

New Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2010
Messages
45
Reaction score
0
i tough you use pwnage tool !!! Cause you said that you use custom ipsw to upgrade to 4.1.
Pwnage tool (custom ipsw) will allow you to keep baseband ,jailbreak at the same time & hactivate you iphone 4 all in one programme.

You should of use this instead, now maybe your baseband was upgrade cause you use i dont know what custom ipsw!!!
 
OP
B

bushypark

New Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2010
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
no i mean its on the screen were you Can only make emergency calls at the moment.
im asking will i be able to get it back to were it is now ( emergency call screen) if i hactivate it with limerain then find out that the baseband is not at 1.59.00 without having to update firmware.
Are saying that if i find out that the firmware is not 1.59.00 i can just use recboot v 1.2 to return it to the emergency call screen?

i used a custom ipsw that was sent to me by a moderater of another forum that was made using vmware...
 

Bobik

New Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2010
Messages
419
Reaction score
0
no i mean its on the screen were you Can only make emergency calls at the moment.
im asking will i be able to get it back to were it is now ( emergency call screen) if i hactivate it with limerain then find out that the baseband is not at 1.59.00 without having to update firmware.
Are saying that if i find out that the firmware is not 1.59.00 i can just use recboot v 1.2 to return it to the emergency call screen?

i used a custom ipsw that was sent to me by a moderater of another forum that was made using vmware...


no man, recboot should help you te get out of the emergency screen. Like I said FIRST download recboot v1.2, Plug it in to itunes, execute recboot, and you will have to click "kick of the recovery" botton
 

Mario

New Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2010
Messages
45
Reaction score
0
Recboot will allow you to get out of recovery mode or in recovery mode!!!

try to click on "kick out of recovery" . But i dont think it's gonna work goes i thing you are in activation mode!

If it doesn't work use limerain & hactivate it!
 

sheefo

New Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2010
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Recboot will allow you to get out of recovery mode or in recovery mode!!!

try to click on "kick out of recovery" . But i dont think it's gonna work goes i thing you are in activation mode!

If it doesn't work use limerain & hactivate it!

I'm actually curious about this, does Recboot help you get out of the activation screen (which allows emergency calls only) when the phone is locked and needs the proper sim?
 

Bobik

New Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2010
Messages
419
Reaction score
0
Recboot will allow you to get out of recovery mode or in recovery mode!!!

try to click on "kick out of recovery" . But i dont think it's gonna work goes i thing you are in activation mode!

If it doesn't work use limerain & hactivate it!

I'm actually curious about this, does Recboot help you get out of the activation screen (which allows emergency calls only) when the phone is locked and needs the proper sim?


no sorry
 
OP
B

bushypark

New Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2010
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
thanks mario, bobik, dannyboy and gaz6076 sorry Im not very clued into everything.

ok so this is what i have to do to get my phone working.
1. limerain. hactivate it
2 get cydia
3 then get ultra snow and my iphone 4 should get bars from my carrier.

but this all will only work if my baseband is 1.59.00

can someone answer the following question as iv asked it a couple of times and no1 has answered it.

Will i be able to get it back to were it is now ( activation screen) if i hactivate it with limerain then find out that the baseband is not at 1.59.00 without having to update firmware?
 

Latest posts

Top