What's new

I may have bought a jailbroken phone and now I can't activate, please help

BONDIE_86

Reaction score
Hi guys, I need a bit of help/advice.

I bought a used iPhone 4s off ebay and it may have been jailbroken.

I restored to ractory settings and tried to restore using iTunes and was getting error 21 and error 1016 (nout sure on the latter but I think it was 1016).

Anyway, the phone is currently ok without a sim card inserted, the seller said that the phone is on Orange and I have tried inserting about 10 Orange sims and they are all ok in other phones but it just won't activate.

I have no experience in jailbreaking or unlocking iPhones etc.

I have no SHSH blobs or anything and I don't know what I can do to get the phone active with a sim inside again.

Also, I just read somewhere that it could be an unteathered jailbreak because when the battery dies I have to take the battery out and charge it in a universal charger connecting the positive and negative pins to the charger to get the battery going again, I thought it was the battery at first but it could be because it has an unteathered jailbreak?

Any help on my next move would be great because at the moment it is basically an iPod which if you let the battery die you need to take it apart.

Many thanks in advance.

Restore the phone while in DFU mode.

Untethered jailbreaks mean that if your device were to be turned off or rebooted, you can fully boot up all aspects of your iOS again without the need of a computer. Taking out the battery is a pain because it's not simply opening up the back cover, pushing down, and removing like Androids and Blackberries.

Jailbroken devices should not affect the ability to activate the device. Might be that the original carrier is actually not Orange. You can check whether it is or not in Settings > General > About. And under Carrier (not Network), you should see the original carrier.