What's new

how do I turn OFF voice command

pepper7144

Reaction score
I have a I-4s 16gb 5.0.1 I want to turn off voice command (voice dial). In the settings>general>passcode lock the voice dial will NOT turn off. The screen says "iPodVoice Control is always enabled". I have an Iphone and do NOT want voice control. I am a trucker using bluetooth, when ending a call if the other person ends the call before I do ( with the bluetooth controls) my phone goes into voice comand. Now I have to pick up my phone to cancil this mode.

If you are talking about Siri, then go to settings> general> siri OFF

bab2010 thanks for your response but no I am not talking about Siri. A close look at my post speaks of a totaly different issue

I have a I-4s 16gb 5.0.1 I want to turn off voice command (voice dial). In the settings>general>passcode lock the voice dial will NOT turn off. The screen says "iPodVoice Control is always enabled". I have an Iphone and do NOT want voice control. I am a trucker using bluetooth, when ending a call if the other person ends the call before I do ( with the bluetooth controls) my phone goes into voice comand. Now I have to pick up my phone to cancil this mode.

You have to set up a pass code lock in order to allow activation of turning the voice control off. If you then turn off your pass code lock it turns back on voice control.

iHolophyte

thanks but that defeats the problem. I do not need to be handling my phone all the time. I see this issue has been ongoing for over 3 years now so I guess Apple does not care that we want to turn their sacred cow off.

thanks but that defeats the problem. I do not need to be handling my phone all the time. I see this issue has been ongoing for over 3 years now so I guess Apple does not care that we want to turn their sacred cow off.

Why does it defeat the problem? Put a pass lock code on, turn off voice. Simples

iHolophyte