What's new

hi everybody, a complete newbie to Iphone (and smartphone as well)

kenyy1999

Reaction score
hi I am a complete newbie to Iphone (and smartphone as well)

i am going to buy either iphone4S or iphone 5

but I've got a few questions in mind.

1. what is "lock" and what is "unlock"? If I buy the phone , together with a SIM card, signing contract with the service provider. will they lock my phone to the SIM card? If my phone is "lock" , does it mean that I can only use one SIM card

If I travel to other countries / constituents and I have to buy a temporary SIM card, will I expereince difficult time using Iphone in other countries.

2. What do I have to check about / pay attention to the phone when I first get the phone in front of the salesperson, to ensure that it worths my money

(Since I sign contract with a service provider and they will give me the phone. but they are not official. I doubt their integrity so I can only trust myself, so I want to ask here about first)

Thanks

Phone choice has a lot to do with carrier choice and their coverage in your area. Study the carriers coverage map for your home area and places you frequent. The a choice can be made. Some cautions. Many carriers have data caps or quotas. I use Sprint Probabily one the least expensive carrier, but service can be problematic , and their 4g LTE coverage is sparce at best. They are changing from WiMAX to LTE. But that is another story long and boring. S the bottom line check coverage and your needs before you choose. Good luck