What's new

Apple Maps review.

KevinJS

Super Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
Having pretty well ignored Apple Maps since the first version turned out to have difficulties, I thought it was time to return to it, and check it out in real world use.

I've been using Google Maps extensively so, inevitably, this review will draw comparisons between the two apps.

The first time I set out to do the test, I didn't realize that I had some options set that were going to severely skew the results. So before you use it, check that the options are set according to the route you want. I had "Avoid highways" and "Avoid tolls" active. Not the best plan for a trucker.

So, having corrected this, I restarted the test. It should be borne in mind that I'm a professional driver. That doesn't mean I'm any good at what I do. It just means I get paid to do it. And I do know my way about. With this in mind, I was testing the app against my own knowledge and intentions. More on this later.

The route I used was between Redwater, Alberta, Canada (my then-current location) and Calgary, Alberta. I asked Siri to plan the route, which involved a street address. Siri opened Maps, calculated the route and started navigating. All good, so far.

The first thing I noticed was that my current position was visible on the lock screen. I like that. Most of the time I would not want to open the phone in order to check progress. I don't know whether Google Maps does the same under iOS 10. It did not under iOS 9. Score +1 to Apple.

Turning onto Highway 38 showed the first problem. Although the display showed me that I was on Highway 38, the voice prompt told me to turn onto 44th Street (that part is correct) and to stay on 44th Street for 20 kilometres. I would have expected instructions to continue onto Highway 38 as I passed the city limits. Score +1 for Google which does that.