What's new

A Bizarre Experience with iPhone 3GS

onedollardave

Reaction score
Hello there, i've made an account on this forum specifically to tell you all about my experiences jailbreaking/unlocking my old iPhone 3GS, it's happened in a rather unusual way, and since i'm a newbie, i'd love for someone to clear up what has happened to me.

Basically, I've been following old guides in order to unlock the phone so i could give it to my mate. It became clear that a jailbreak was the only way i could unlock it for free, so i set upon the task. I was on baseband 5.16, and tutorials revealed that the only way to get ultrasn0w unlock to work, would be to upgrade to the ipad 2 firmware, and then downgrade to 5.13 from there. I received many warnings stating that if my iphone was of the new bootrom, i would brick the phone if i updated to ipad. They said that if the serial number showed it being built after the 37th week of 2011, the ipad 2 firmware wouldn't be compatible. Luckily my iPhone was 012, meaning the 12th week of 2010, which from what i understood, meant i was on the old bootrom.

However, when redsnow asked if it was old or new bootrom, i said old, but then when it started jailbreaking, it crashed with an error, saying i had given it the wrong info and it was actually new. So i had two conflicting reports, but any software i run to check, does confirm redsnow's belief that i'm on the new bootrom. The phone is smashed up, and i didn't really care about it getting bricked so i decided to try it anyway.

Strangely... it worked! And then i was able to downgrade to 5.13 with no issues! I read that some people on the new baseband could do that, but their phone would be tethered or semi tethered. But my phone isn't even tethered, it's fully functional on 5.13 even though it has the new baseband.

So, two questions.
1. Why does my serial number suggest i would have the old baseband, when in fact i have the new one?