Why Does My Iphone Lose It's APN Settings After Every iOS Update?

Discussion in 'iPhone Talk' started by 5er driver, Nov 3, 2012.

  1. 5er driver

    5er driver Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Germany
    It's a real PITA to have to re-enter the APN settings after every iOS update. What causes the data loss? I back up the phone (4S) to iTunes and iCloud before each software update and the APN settings don't get copied back onto the phone during the update process. After updating, when I try to use Cellular Data, I have none. Then I realize the APN setting has been screwed with again, all the settings fields are completely blank. Anyone else have this problem after updating the iOS on their phones?

    Sent from my iPhone 4S or iPad 3rd gen, whichever I happened to have in my hands at the time, using iPF.net
     
  2. Skull One

    Skull One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,377
    Likes Received:
    481
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Earth
    Same reason why they clear passwords. They are trying secure things and/or get settings back to a known state.
     
  3. 5er driver

    5er driver Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Germany
    Skull,

    I would think the known state is in the back ups. All the other settings on my phone are restored or unchanged after the iOS updates. Do you have to re-enter your APN settings after every software update? I'm wondering if this is across the board or only me having the issue.

    Sent from my iPhone 4S or iPad 3rd gen, whichever I happened to have in my hands at the time, using iPF.net
     
  4. 5er driver

    5er driver Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Germany
    APN = Access Point Name. And all the data disappears from my phone after updating the iOS.


    $image-3936298004.jpg

    $image-1692291136.jpg

    $image-3310047515.jpg

    Sent from my iPhone 4S or iPad 3rd gen, whichever I happened to have in my hands at the time, using iPF.net
     
  5. dbplumb

    dbplumb Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New Zealand, where all the iPhones are unlocked
    Could it be a carrier thing cos I never have to re-enter anything. In fact since getting a new sim going from a 4 to my 4s I don't even have that page available any more


    Sent from my iPhone 4s using Tapatalk
     
  6. tortelliniguy

    tortelliniguy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    Yes it is directly related to your carrier. If you want to use your iPhone on a carrier that is not official such as tmobile, simple mobile, straight talk then you need to edit apn settings in order to have full access. Editing apn settings enables you to use data and mms on your iPhone when not on an official carrier.
     
  7. dbplumb

    dbplumb Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New Zealand, where all the iPhones are unlocked
    Yes my carrier was not an official one until the 4s was released


    Sent from my iPhone 4s using Tapatalk
     
  8. tortelliniguy

    tortelliniguy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    If you have an official carrier then you shouldn't have to worry about it. Knowledge is power though. I personally do not like contracts and the whole contract thing so I use straight talk (45$ a month unlimited everything). Prepaid has definitely saved me literally over 1k each year.
     
  9. tortelliniguy

    tortelliniguy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    You don't need to edit apn settings if you are on verizon. You already have data and mms working right?
     
  10. 5er driver

    5er driver Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Germany
    I use non official carriers, Simyo in Germany and Straight Talk in the U.S. I don't mind having to change the APN settings when swapping the SIMs, but it torques me that every time I update the phone's iOS these settings are erased and I have to re-enter the data even though it has been backed up.

    Sent from my iPhone 4S or iPad 3rd gen, whichever I happened to have in my hands at the time, using iPF.net
     

Share This Page