What's new

What does jailbreak mean

Mes1215

Reaction score
I have seen a lot of post say you have to be jail broken what does that mean?

Hackers find problems with Apple 's coding of their operating system and then they create a program to give us access to our phones to change the look, add applications that Apple doesn't sell, etc. it's also called "root-ing" your phone if you've heard Android users talking about it. You can change many things about your iPhone after its jail broken.. Different amount of icons per row and on your dock. Change the way the icons look. Many things.

As far as I understand things (and Im a noob keep in mind)

Jailbreaking simply unlocks the file system on the phone so that everything is now customisable instead of locked and restricted (jailbreak=unrestricted access to everything on your phone including system stuff normally locked down)

In a nutshell to JB mine I just plugged it into the computer, downloaded the JB program and ran it. Once it finished a few mins later I rebooted and thats it.

At that point nothing has really changed with your phones "look" or anything - But it allows you to change things from then on (like downloading cydia apps to fully trick out your phone - I just got one that makes facetime work over the 3g network instead of limited to WIFI :) )

Last edited:
How do you do it is it an app?