Turn off Facebook Sync

Discussion in 'iPhone Apps' started by rabidkeebler, Sep 25, 2012.

  1. rabidkeebler
    Offline

    rabidkeebler New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So I'm new to the iphone (had an android, just got my iphone 5). I'm still getting used to everything and installing my apps. I installed the Facebook app and it asked me if I wanted to sync. I made the mistake of saying yes. Now my contact list is full of people I don't want in there and I can't delete them. Anyone have any idea of how undo this. All the sites that talk about doing this refer to an older version of Facebook and iOS so nothing is leading me to a "Turn the Sync Off" switch.
  2. ariana
    Offline

    ariana New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sunset Valley, CA
    Setting>Facebook>Toggle off contacts. Then click update contacts and it should be fine
  3. rabidkeebler
    Offline

    rabidkeebler New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    GOD BLESS YOU!!! I've been digging through the facebook app for the last two hours trying to get this fixed.
  4. ariana
    Offline

    ariana New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sunset Valley, CA
    Hahahah lol same thing happened to me!
  5. swtloretta69
    Offline

    swtloretta69 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You can also go into the contacts application press groups and deselect Facebook friends from contacts. This way the ppl in your contacts will be updated with their Facebook picture and information.
  6. SusanR
    Offline

    SusanR New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you so much!! Goes to show, search topics before posting a new one.
  7. mssyd13
    Offline

    mssyd13 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern Michigan
    Once you turn off FB syncing, if you tap the "update all contacts" it will remove all the contacts FB put in but NOT the ones you put in manually. I use a free app called "sync.me" it does the same thing (syncs your contacts with FB contacts) BUT it only syncs with contacts already in your phone so you don't wind up with a bunch of people that you don't want in your contacts. It also adds their FB info to the info you already have instead of replacing it so your friend's non FB emails stay in tact.

Share This Page