Spanish iPhone 4: unlock?

Discussion in 'iPhone Unlocking' started by barto2, Mar 7, 2012.

  1. barto2
    Offline

    barto2 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi all!
    I'm an italian guy and a friend of mine has a spanish&locked iPhone 4. He couldn't figure out how to unlock it, so it's turned off gathering dust.
    I know actually there's no way to unlock the phone part of the phone (LOL), am I right? You know how long will we have to wait?

    But I'm not writing this post just for asking you this.
    I'll be in Spain for like 9 months from September, so my question is: If I'll bring the phone with me and use a spanish card, will the phone work perfectly?

    Thanks in adavance everybody
  2. Thomasjtsi
    Offline

    Thomasjtsi Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    7,501
    Likes Received:
    438
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Missouri, USA
    What Baseband is the iPhone 4 on? That's what determines if it's unlockable. Let us know and we'll see what can be done.
  3. barto2
    Offline

    barto2 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't know that, 'cause I don't have it in my own hands... Also my friend says that he can't turn it on 'cause the phone keep asking him to insert the proper SIM (which of course he hasn't...). The phone should be approximately one year old, it it's helpful.
  4. Thomasjtsi
    Offline

    Thomasjtsi Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    7,501
    Likes Received:
    438
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Missouri, USA
    Unfortunately there's no way to know if or how the iPhone can be unlocked w/o knowing a little bit of information about it. Best way to approach is see if your friend can possibly get his/her hands on a Sim that goes w/ the iPhone's original carrier. It can be a pay as you go or whatever. Just something to get past the activation screen. That way we can get the info needed to know if it's unlockable.
  5. barto2
    Offline

    barto2 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So you can't even tell if the phone will work when I'll be in Spain? (the carrier should be Vodafone ES, but my friend isn't sure of it)
  6. Thomasjtsi
    Offline

    Thomasjtsi Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    7,501
    Likes Received:
    438
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Missouri, USA
    Not 100%, no.
  7. barto2
    Offline

    barto2 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You said "the best way", so I'm guessing there are worse ways? I can't think it's impossible to get past the activation screen without the right SIM!
    Sorry for being so insistent, I'm a total noob regarding iPhone matters ;)
  8. Jmills87
    Offline

    Jmills87 New Member Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    3,646
    Likes Received:
    160
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Land of Ice and Snow
    Without knowing your baseband, there is absolutely no way that we can tell you if it can be unlocked or not.
  9. barto2
    Offline

    barto2 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    that's ok, I've searched on the web and find out only one base is unlockable. I'll see when I'll have it.
    I'd just like to know if the phone will work with a spanish SIM or not.
  10. Jmills87
    Offline

    Jmills87 New Member Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    3,646
    Likes Received:
    160
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Land of Ice and Snow
    Actually only 1 baseband is NOT unlockable, and that is 04.11.08, all other iPhone4 basebands can be unlocked.
  11. barto2
    Offline

    barto2 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Now, that's a good news! So now the question is: how can I know which my baseband is, if I can't turn on the phone ('cause there's the SIM lock message)?
  12. Jmills87
    Offline

    Jmills87 New Member Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    3,646
    Likes Received:
    160
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Land of Ice and Snow
    Jailbreak it with Redsn0w to bypass the activation screen. If it's on iOS 5.x then you have the 04.11.08 baseband.
  13. barto2
    Offline

    barto2 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you very much, can you link a guide (step by step, I'm a total noob) of how to do it on windows?
    If I do this procedure and find out that the baseband doesen't allow me to unlock the phone (or even if it does), will I be able to use it as a proper telephone when I'll be in Spain?
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2012
  14. Thomasjtsi
    Offline

    Thomasjtsi Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    7,501
    Likes Received:
    438
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Missouri, USA
    Download "redsn0w" from here.. Dev-Team Blog Jailbreaking w/ redsn0w is pretty much a plug in and go process.
    • Like Like x 4
  15. barto2
    Offline

    barto2 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Guys, finally I have the iPhone in my own hands.
    I've used Tinyumbrella, and that's the result
    $Immagine.jpg

    So, what can I do now? Is the phone unlockable?
    I do not want to make a mistake (especially I'm scared that the phone will update, like I red somewhere) so I'm waiting for an opinion...
    Thank you sooo much!
  16. Jmills87
    Offline

    Jmills87 New Member Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    3,646
    Likes Received:
    160
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Land of Ice and Snow
    You will need to buy a Gevey Ultra sim, as the 04.10.01 baseband is only unlockable via hardware. You will also need to update your firmware. If you have your 5.0.1 SHSH saved you can create a custom 5.0.1 firmware to update with and use an untethered jailbreak. If you don't have your 5.0.1 SHSH you will need to update to a custom 5.1 firmware and run a tethered jailbreak for now.

    Whatever you do make SURE you update with a custom firmware otherwise your baseband will be updated and it will no longer be unlockable.
  17. barto2
    Offline

    barto2 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is the SIm, Right?http://applenberry.com/store/gevey-ultra
    it says "
    Works on iOS 4.1, 4.2, 4.2.1, 4.3, 4.3.1, 4.3.2, 4.3.3, 4.3.4, and 4.3.5" so do I really need to update to 5.0.1 or can I just stay with my firmware and have an untethered jailbreak? (I do not have the SHSH saved, of course)
  18. zig9449
    Offline

    zig9449 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Messages:
    3,209
    Likes Received:
    104
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    What iOS are you on right now?
  19. Thomasjtsi
    Offline

    Thomasjtsi Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    7,501
    Likes Received:
    438
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Missouri, USA
    It's right there in the post you quoted Zig... 4.3.5.
  20. Thomasjtsi
    Offline

    Thomasjtsi Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    7,501
    Likes Received:
    438
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Missouri, USA

Share This Page