What's new

Ringtone help

the razor

Reaction score
I am new with Iphone. And to be honest I am not an expert in electronics.
I just bought two ringtones from Itunes and when I downloaded them into my PC they went into my music file. I synced my ipod and they did not go to ringtones. I want to load one for my text messages and the other for my answering calls. Can anybody tell me what I did wrong. In another words. What is the right procedure to download them and to go to the right place (ringtone folder). To a point I ended up deleting them. Thanks in advance for the help I can get out there. By the way I went to a couples webpages to find out a procedure and what I got was a virus. Meaning I would not want to go to a webpage I do not know. Thanks
The razor

Last edited:
just download a related software.

Thanks apoman. I guess for the weekend I am going to sit and figure it out. I will try and see your recomendations. Thanks again guys for your input and help.
Happy thanksgiving to all of you out there.

Clickeds on link above for creating ringtones in iTunes, but page no longer exists.

I have created a ringtone (using an app, not iTunes), and have it saved as .wav, .m4r, and .m4a. Apple technician told me to save ringtone as .m4r and simply drag it into Tones file in iTunes Library on my PC, from which it can be synched with my iPhone's "Sounds" settings. But when I try to drag and drop, the tone file doesn't show up in the destination folder. Does anyone know how to make this ought-to-be-simple process actually work?

ProfBob said:
Clickeds on link above for creating ringtones in iTunes, but page no longer exists.