What's new

New iphone 4 user! Should i jailbreak it?

Status
Not open for further replies.

vhsmith37

Reaction score
Hi, I'm new to the apple idevices. I'm wondering if I should jailbreak my iPhone 4 or not...

I read online that jail breaking might make the phone unstable, is that true?

What are the pros and cons of jail breaking?

Thanks!

No it's not unstable. And yes you should jailbreak it and get freed from the ball and chain!!!

And couple questions,

I saw this winterboard thing, how exactly do I use it to "customize" my phone?
And for the iPhone hotspot thing, will iPhone 5.1.1 work? And do I need to have data plan for the hotspot? I only have calls and txts

I know I need to jailbreak my phone first

Thanks

Winterboard is just an application to set themes, you download whatever theme you want and then select and apply the theme through winterboard. iPhone tethering works on all firmware, but you definitely need a data plan in order for it to work. If you don't have a data plan there is no data to tether.

vhsmith37 said:
Hi, I'm new to the apple idevices. I'm wondering if I should jailbreak my iPhone 4 or not...

I read online that jail breaking might make the phone unstable, is that true?

What are the pros and cons of jail breaking?

Thanks!

your best to read through the many other threads and make your own decision, and i'd urge you note how many posts that are in concern over problems after having (or attempted to) jail beak their device.

you need to decide can you live without all the JB 'advantages' against if it go wrong the and of your phone becoming an expensive door stop.

many will shout "done it dozens of times with no problems" just as many others now have a dead device after trying just once!

gets a bit like speeding - can you afford that risk!