Jailbreak 7.1

Discussion in 'iPhone Jailbreaking' started by jockmcd, Mar 17, 2014.

  1. jockmcd

    jockmcd Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Is the iphone 4 Jailbreakable on 7.1 using Evasion ?
    On Evasion website it says 7.0 through to 7.0.6 but I see the the latest uodate is 7.1.
    Phone is is running 7.0.4 so may just jailbreak on that software if 7.1 cannot be jailbroken using Evasion.

    Kind regards.

    Al.
     
  2. willerz2

    willerz2 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    7,669
    Likes Received:
    647
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    New York
    You can use RageMasta's utility to tethered jailbreak your iPhone 4 on 7.1. I'll update the post with the link in a sec


    Sent from my iPhone via Tapatalk Pro
     
  3. jockmcd

    jockmcd Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Hi Willerz, so I wont need Evasion at all just ragemasta ?
    Dont wanna complicate things to much as I am noobish at JB even although Ive done enough of them, like to keep it simple :-0
    Tethered being that I dont computer to reboot ?
     
  4. willerz2

    willerz2 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    7,669
    Likes Received:
    647
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    New York
    No, strictly GeekSn0w by RageMasta.

    Ragemasta

    No. Tethered jailbreaks means that your device will require a computer to reboot to regain full functionality.
     
  5. jockmcd

    jockmcd Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Think I may just jailbreak on 7.0.4 as this is what the iphone is running at the moment. It has never been JB before so so I just goto Evasion and do my thang ?

    Kind regards.

    Al.
     
  6. Mickey330

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    335
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    western NY state (USA)
    Yep. You just need the latest evasi0n 7 tool (version 1.0.7 from evasi0n.com) and you're ready to go. Good luck.

    Marilyn
     
  7. jockmcd

    jockmcd Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Excellent thank you.

    Kind regards.

    Al.
     
  8. jockmcd

    jockmcd Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Hi back again :)

    I have noticed on Evasion website it says phone must have been updated from itunes pc and not over the air ie wifi.

    Ive asked the person I got this from and they are pretty sure it was done on itunes via pc.

    Is there somehiw I can tell how this phone was updated and/or is there a fix if I get stuck at apple logo error ?
     
  9. willerz2

    willerz2 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    7,669
    Likes Received:
    647
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    New York
    Some users have gotten RedSn0w to work in telling whether or not the device was updated via OTA or not. The only real way to find out is to run Evasi0n 1.0.7 or Evasi0n 1.0.3, and see if you get stuck at the modifying rootfs portion just before the "Finished" portion of the jailbreak.
     
  10. jockmcd

    jockmcd Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    If it gets stuck does this mean iphone will be out of action untill there is a fix released or can this be fixed already ?
     
  11. willerz2

    willerz2 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    7,669
    Likes Received:
    647
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    New York
    If the Evasi0n7 utility crashes, that means your device was OTA updated. Your device is still usable, just that you'll need to reboot it to get the cached data from the utility off of the device. Your device will not be in a boot loop unless it was OTA updated and somehow the utility was able to "jailbreak" it, and your boot chain was corrupted, hence the recovery loop.
     
  12. jockmcd

    jockmcd Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ok so phone wont be stuck on apple logo till there is a fix then ? Just the way its worded in red on Evasion site I thought it may crash and stick if it had been OTA updated.
    So I can safely try Evasion and if it gets stuck with this apple logo I only need to reboot ?

    Kind regards

    Al
     

Share This Page