iphone4 stopped working, only dfu mode or plug into itunes mode

Discussion in 'iPhone Help' started by Melei, Jan 21, 2011.

  1. Melei
    Offline

    Melei New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I recently jailbroke, a few days later my phone simply stopped working and only goes into DFU mode. I tried a myriad of recovery methods. I didn't back up my iphone info. I have no idea what to do :( I can only enter DFU mode, nothing else. It doesn't register under tinyumbrella, not that I would know how to use that program anyways. Once while in DFU mode, I manually installed 4.2.1 but during the end when it looks like my iphone is almost finished with recovery it says BLAH BLAH IT UNEXPECTEDLY DOESN'T WORK(10) :(((
  2. craigfoot
    Offline

    craigfoot New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney
    If it was me I'd try a restore in iTunes to get the phone back up and running.

    If it comes back up you can just JB it again.

    Hang out though someone with more experience might be able to help you get it back up and running without losing the stuff that isn't backed up.

    PS... you should always, always back up in case something goes wrong.
  3. Melei
    Offline

    Melei New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I tried restoring through itunes as well and still a no-go. I also just tried jailreaking again with limera1n to no avail. It says successful jailbreak but my iphone is still on the " usb to itunes" screen.. thanks for the advice though.
  4. craigfoot
    Offline

    craigfoot New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney
    Exactly what happened when you tried the restore? What errors etc. did you get?
  5. Melei
    Offline

    Melei New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    the iphone could not be restored. An error occurred.(21)
  6. craigfoot
    Offline

    craigfoot New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney
    Dunno if you have tried this, but I just googled that error.

    Two people fixed it by doing this...

    Step by step for mac users..

    1. Go to Disk Utility: you can just type this in spotlight or open Finder, click on Applications, open the Utilities folder, double click Disk Utility

    2. Click Macintosh HD

    3. Click Repair Disk Permissions: this will take awhile but I didn't have to delete anything from my laptop after this

    4. Once permissions have been repaired, unplug iPhone from the laptop.

    5. Reboot iTunes.

    6. Plug iPhone back and turn it on.

    7. Restore and update.

    8. Fixed with no loss of files.


    You can read the full thread on the Apple forums here...

    Apple - Support - Discussions - The iPhone "iPhone" could not be ...

    Give that a shot...
  7. Melei
    Offline

    Melei New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    tried that as well, now I'm getting the 1013 error at the very end of the "verifying firmware" part..
  8. iGaz
    Offline

    iGaz New Member Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    4,515
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    Are you restoring to 4.2.1? It should verify the firmware if your downloading it through iTunes. If your trying to restore to 4.1 then you need SHSH's for that firmware.

    When you got the the connect to iTunes page after you tried jailbreaking with limerain I'm assuming you were on 4.1? If so did you try tinyumbrella to kick it out of recovery...?
  9. Melei
    Offline

    Melei New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    when i kick it out of recovery with tiny umbrella it shows the apple logo for a minute and then goes right back to recovery mode.
  10. Melei
    Offline

    Melei New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    and yes im doing 4.2.1, still won't verify through itunes
  11. iGaz
    Offline

    iGaz New Member Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    4,515
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    iTunes should verify it if is its 4.2.1. Are you using the official firmware or have you downloaded it from the internet?

    When you were stuck in the recovery loop with tiny umbrella what error were you getting in itunes when you were trying to restore...?
  12. gav1b
    Offline

    gav1b New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    have a look at my reply this morning in the hacking section.

    or google how to edit your hosts file. that should get rid of error 1013. tiny umbrella wont kick the phone out of recovery.

    assuming your on mac this might help How to edit the hosts file in Mac OS X – Leopard

    if on windows 7 look in C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc you will need to use notepad in administrater mode, right click notpad, run as administrator. then open the above file.

    remove the lines with gs.apple in them and save the file as type: all files

    it will allow u to restore from itunes but it will update base band etc.
  13. Melei
    Offline

    Melei New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've trid using official firmware as well as seperate firmware for 4.2.1 I've downloaded. error 1013. I've tried editing host files, still get the error.
  14. iGaz
    Offline

    iGaz New Member Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    4,515
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    Once you edit the hosts file reboot your computer before trying to restore again. It may take a few restore attempts before it will work...
  15. Melei
    Offline

    Melei New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    still nada... feel like this may be a lost cause : (
  16. iGaz
    Offline

    iGaz New Member Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    4,515
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    Start again. Uninstall iTunes completely form you computer including QuickTime and reboot. Then download the latest version from the apple website.

    Then restore you phone again from iTunes. If that doesn't work edit the hosts file again. Make sure you delete the whole line, not just part of it, then save and reboot your computer again. Restore again in iTunes. If it still doesn't work try a few times. Also try using tiny to kick out of recovery a few times when you see the connect to iTunes screen.

    Just keep trying. I had this problem twice. The first time editing the host file worked but it still took a few restore attempts. The second I was getting the same error (1013) but that time tiny managed to kick it out of recovery after a few attempts...
  17. gav1b
    Offline

    gav1b New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    after editing host file you must reboot, also make sure you have edited the host file!!! if your not saving as 'all files' or are not in admin mode it wont edit it!!

    easiest way to check, edit it, save, reboot, check it is still edited!!!

    if you take it to apple they can reboot the phone for you but you will stille keep coming back to the same issue!!

    i had a nightmare getting the drivers to go back in when i deleted them via device manager!!

    it will work eventually, you gotta flush the dns too if its not flushing itself!! in prompt, type in: ipconfig /flushdns that will help it sort things out!!
  18. jnr06
    Offline

    jnr06 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

Share This Page