What's new

iPhone 4 stuck on apple screen after Erase and Reset

warriorfan808

Reaction score
Hey guys,

First off, I'm a complete noob when it comes to Iphones. I bought this Iphone from a guy about 2 months ago. It was SW Unlocked and Jailbroken. I didn't want to get a contract because I move around so much and usually go with pay as you go phone cards.

This all happened when my brother came home with his Iphone 3G. He bought it from a store here in Hawaii and it seemed to have a ton of information from the previous owner. We looked online and a youtube video showed us how to Reset and Erase all data. I looked it up and people said it wouldn't mess up the Unlock or Jailbreak, so we did it. It sat there for a 45 minutes and my brother began to freak out.

I remembered that it said it could take a few hours, so I told him that I'll do it with mine too so he feels comfortable. The guy I bought the phone off didn't take a lot of his data off either, so I figured it would be a good idea.

Well, here I am. It has been 13 hours now and it's still on that screen. I ended up trying to do a reset by pushing the home button and the power button on the top. It didn't work.

I know this is even worse, but I've never used Itunes for my phone. I'm downloading it now to install. I read others had issues like this, but ended up recovering with their itunes. The thing is, I never used itunes, so I don't have anything to recover from. If it helps, I did manually backup everything on my phone, the old drag and drop method.

If you guys can help me out, that would be great. I'm glad I found this forum because it looks like I'm going to have to really learn how to use this thing. I'm just hoping it's not junked.