How else can I activate Siri without having to hold-down Home button for 1 full sec?

Discussion in 'Siri' started by AeroMonk, Nov 8, 2011.

  1. AeroMonk
    Offline

    AeroMonk New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You see, I can't hold down the Home button for any length of time at all, not even one second. It's because I'm handicapped with a muscle weakness disease, and the only way I can use the home button is by giving it a firm tap, which my thumb just kind of bounces off the home button. I just don't have enough muscle strength to hold the button, I can only tap it. So I need a different way to turn on Siri, that doesn't require me to hold down any buttons. Cause if I can't even activate Siri, what's the point in me even keeping my iphone 4S. Please Help.
  2. jpcamaro70
    Offline

    jpcamaro70 Guest

    wake your phone up, and while it's in the lock screen if you put it up to your ear siri will come on
  3. AeroMonk
    Offline

    AeroMonk New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    I don't have enough arm strength to lift my iphone up to my ear or face. My phone is always laying in my lap, and when I make or answer phone calls I use my bluetooth headset.
  4. hacker19961215
    Offline

    hacker19961215 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Go to setting general accesability and than you have tu put asseseve touch on reply if you need more info

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Nov 8, 2011
  5. AeroMonk
    Offline

    AeroMonk New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry, I can't read the language in those screencap pictures. Can someone show me in english.
    Thanks
  6. hacker19961215
    Offline

    hacker19961215 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Here you go the fotos im english

    Attached Files:

  7. iCrank
    Offline

    iCrank Member Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,623
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Vallejo, Ca
    Thread moved.
  8. Col.bris
    Offline

    Col.bris Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    150
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Welcome to our forums, I understand totally your problem and we are here to help.

    My approach to this is see if we can email someone at Apple whom may be able to sort this out. One option is a developer write a simple program that is easy for our valued member to use so if you are a developer maybe you can look at the problem and come up with a solution.

    This is a solution we came up with last year In iPad forums I realize that it is not the same however if we contact the person whom developed the yes no app we should be able to help our user. This type of app is custom and has to be approved by Apple however in saying that there will be many users having the same issue. I am happy to assist in this matter once I receive a response.

    http://www.ipadforums.net/ipad-apps/4866-there-simple-yes-no-app.html
    Also this page same thread. I am happy to email the developer and see if they can write an app for you......http://www.ipadforums.net/ipad-apps/4866-there-simple-yes-no-app-2.html
    • Like Like x 2
  9. AeroMonk
    Offline

    AeroMonk New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That would be perfect. I would be greatfull if you could contact the developer and see if he can help by creating an App or some kind of work-around.

    Thank you
  10. Col.bris
    Offline

    Col.bris Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    150
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    I have emailed the developer and i am also having one of our mods phone Giles, whom is the developer I expect they will log on here and discuss your requirement . I ask that you monitor this thread for a response. I cannot guarantee a solution however at least we may get input and some ideas that would help you.
  11. AeroMonk
    Offline

    AeroMonk New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks buddy :)
  12. eddieg
    Offline

    eddieg New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    Messages:
    690
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Piscataway N.J.
    Try the assistive touch i think that will work for you.
  13. AeroMonk
    Offline

    AeroMonk New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I also know somebody else who's in the same situation as me, but he has a 3GS. Is "assistive touch" available for the iphone 3GS or is it only on the 4S?
  14. eddieg
    Offline

    eddieg New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    Messages:
    690
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Piscataway N.J.
    If you have IOS5 then your good to go.
  15. Col.bris
    Offline

    Col.bris Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    150
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    I am looking for a much better solution I agree about using assistive touch it may be a short term solution however I believe we can come up with a more advance product similar to what was created for a user in iPad forums by the same developer. Another member has already suggested using assistive touch.

    Phrase Board is the app that they created for a user in the iPad forum.
    I understand this is not the solution for areomonk however the group whom developed Phrase Board built the app as a result of a users problem in ipadforums.


    To answer to newdestinyx comment...........
    I owned my own Apple specialist (VAR) business for 25 years delivering solutions to publishers, printers, photographers, architects and video production houses. I was not employed by Apple Ausptralia however in saying that I did had close contacts within Apple Australia
  16. hacker19961215
    Offline

    hacker19961215 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I alteady told him anout assesive touch and even showed with pics how to do it
  17. AeroMonk
    Offline

    AeroMonk New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Okay I just got off the phone with Apple tech support and they said as of right now assistive touch cannot be used to activate the Siri program, because Siri is still in beta testing and there is only one way to activate Siri and that's by holding down the real home button for a few seconds. The funny thing is if you go back into Settings and you turn off Siri, then you can use the artificial home button from assistive touch to activate the Voice Control program, Which doesn't make any sense to me. I would think if you can use the assistive touch home button to activate the voice control program a person would think you would be able to use the same assistive touch home button to activate the Siri program so hopefully they'll fix that.

    And when I say the "voice control program" I mean the one that came out awhile ago for the iPhone 3GS, you know the one with a blue screen that you can use your voice to make phone calls.

    So, I'm back to square-one.
  18. DaveM
    Offline

    DaveM Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Ohio
    Not only is it still around, it seems to be much improved over the iOS 4.x. version. I couldn't get it to work well enough with my Bluetooth speakerphone to trust it to dial phone numbers for me. Now with iOS 5 I have very few problems.
  19. AeroMonk
    Offline

    AeroMonk New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I really thought assistive touch home button was going to work, but I guess not. So yeah I would definitely like to go back to our original idea of having a developer create an application that will be used activate Siri instead of waiting for Apple to fix the coding, because who knows how long that's going to take. And I just can't wait two or three months for Apple to figure out the problem and fix it, because I really need to start using the Siri program now, that's why I bought the iPhone 4S. So any help you guys can provide would be much appreciated.

    Thanks again.
  20. Adam2k90
    Offline

    Adam2k90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Hi and welcome to the forum,
    Once a jailbreak is available you could use activator and set Siri to open however you like eg double tap the screen. Not sure if you want to jailbreak however.

Share This Page