Erratic iPhone 6 wifi behaviour

Discussion in 'iPhone Help' started by charlie_bryson, Jan 10, 2017.

  1. charlie_bryson

    charlie_bryson New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi All,

    Sorry to post this in two places but i'm getting pretty desperate here and the apple forums are like a ghost town!

    I am having some very strange wifi issues with my iPhone 6 iOS 10.2 (issues have existed on previous iOS versions)


    My phone seems to have a mind of it's own when it comes to connecting to wifi. I have listed the multitude of issues below. I should also point out that I have reset my network settings and factory restored the iPhone both having absolutely no effect on the problem! Interestingly the only thing that has worked thus far is setting my phone up as a new phone after doing a factory reset, but if I restore my settings from iCloud the problem returns. So i guess we can rule out the problem being the physical phone itself.

    THE ISSUES:

    -Wi-Fi in settings will turn off on it’s own when phone is locked, but control panel still shows wifi as being on.

    -Even if wifi is on in control panel. It will be off in settings.

    -When wifi is initially turned back on in settings it does not display a list of networks available unless you go out of the wifi settings and then back into them and even then it is unusual for there to be any available networks displayed.

    -Looking at the main settings page, the wifi section will display a network name as if it is connected to it, but it is not. There is no wifi status bars at the top left of the screen.

    -Then when you go into wifi settings a grey spinning wheel is just displayed next to the network it is trying to connect too

    -On the off chance the phone can get onto a network it will often not display the wifi status bars on the top left of the screen, but pages and messages will still load.

    -If i go to the wifi page in settings, turn the wifi off and then flick up the control panel the wifi is still shown as being on. I then turn it off in the control panel and the button greys out for about 30 seconds before i can turn it back on again.

    Thanks for reading this guys and I hope someone can help diagnose this problem.

    Thanks!
     
  2. brixtonboy

    brixtonboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2015
    Messages:
    2,193
    Likes Received:
    1,999
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Don't know if this will help but have you tried just resetting your router? To make sure it's getting a signal.
    For me there was a button at the back, just pressed an kept it in for a few seconds.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. KevinJS

    KevinJS Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Messages:
    2,298
    Likes Received:
    1,916
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Alberta Canada
    My jump to conclusion is that you have a setting awry somewhere. If you don't have a problem after restoring, but the problem returns after restoring from a backup, I'd suggest that the problem is with the backup.

    I'd suggest restoring from the backup, then restoring network settings: Settings/General/Reset/Reset Network Settings. You'll lose your saved network passwords but you should also lose the problem.

    As @brixtonboy suggests, it would be a good time to reset other network components; routers and modems at the same time
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. fg3_colton

    fg3_colton Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I had this problem on my 4S when IOS 8 was first released a while ago. The temporary fix was overheating the phone and letting it sit for a few minutes. The wifi would work soon after but for only a few minutes. I'm sharing this as a last resort, however, what I would first try is to go into settings>general>reset> reset network settings and try it then. If that still doesn't work, do a full restore and set the phone up as new. Not restoring from a back up. Then if your A) out of warranty, and B) you're extremely bored. and only then, would I go through over heating the phone.
     
  5. charlie_bryson

    charlie_bryson New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hey guys,

    Thanks for the responses. The router is definitely not the problem as I have tried it on many different networks with the same results. I travel a lot for work and have the same problem at every single hotel i stay in :(

    As for the resetting the network settings I have just tried this again with no change.

    If I reset all settings I can still get my phone back to it's current state in terms of music and pictures on it right? It just takes a bit more time to do it all individually rather than restoring it from iCloud?

    Thanks.
     
  6. scifan57

    scifan57 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    17,427
    Likes Received:
    13,945
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Regina, Canada
    Based on what you said in your first post it looks like the only thing you can do is restore your iphone and set it up as a new phone. It appears that something on your iPhone that's included in the backup is causing your problem.

    Before you take that step, though, you may want to take your iPhone to an Apple Store for a full diagnostic at the Genius Bar.
     
    • Like Like x 3
  7. brixtonboy

    brixtonboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2015
    Messages:
    2,193
    Likes Received:
    1,999
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Just to say l'm no expert ok. Could this be a problem related to an app, did this strange stuff start happening after you installed one. Unlikely l know but!!!!! If you restored from your backup you put the problem back in your handy
     
  8. brixtonboy

    brixtonboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2015
    Messages:
    2,193
    Likes Received:
    1,999
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Hope he gives up some feedback when this is sorted.
    I was thinking of backing up to the P C or whatever then setting up a new handy. With just the Apple stuff and Wifi on it. If it doesn't work then well the handy must be kaputt.
    But all the photos etc are safe in the backup.

    Then for me would be an appointment and a 2 hour drive and stress. Don't know if you can send your handy in to them?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. J. A.

    J. A. Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Messages:
    13,481
    Likes Received:
    16,583
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Apetlon, Austria
    That depends. Austria doesn't have an Apple Retail Store, so I have to send my devices to Apple.
     
    • Like Like x 2

Share This Page