Cydia not showing installed packages after update

Discussion in 'iPhone Jailbreaking' started by izzyfanto, Jan 16, 2012.

  1. izzyfanto

    izzyfanto New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    after unistalling Corona so as to re jailbreak with redsn0w, my iphone went into a respring loop. i re jailbroke, phone booted up with all tweaks installed and everything worked just fine. but after going to Cydia, it asked to update itself, which i did. but after rebooting, none of my installed packages showed up. i found a forum saying i need to go into iFile under var>lib>dpkg and delete the "available" and "status" and then take the "old" off of the backups. i rebooted and loaded Cydia, but packages still not showing up. anybody have this problem?
     
  2. Jmills87

    Jmills87 New Member Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    3,646
    Likes Received:
    160
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Land of Ice and Snow
    You corrupted the jailbreak by uninstalling Corona. You will have to restore and rejailbreak.
     
  3. izzyfanto

    izzyfanto New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    man that is frustrating. I wish I would have known. the thing is, Corona never fixed iBooks for me, and I assumed it was because I installed overtop an already untethered redsn0w. is this correct? that is why I uninstalled. and now that I have the latest redsn0w untether, iBooks still won't work, but everything else works perfectly. and what is corrupting a jailbreak mean? it doesn't seem to have any problems to me aside from now showing the installed tweaks. I saw a forum saying manually deleting and re adding the sources would fix this.

    also, what if Apple had stopped signing 5.0.1, how would I restore? the new iTunes forces you to "restore AND update". I'm kinda worried about that.

    thanks for your help

    Sent from my iPhone using iPF.net
     
  4. iMarilina

    iMarilina New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    From Orlando, FL to Greece!
    If 5.1 was out you wouldnt be able to restore to 5.0.1 even with saved shsh right now.

    Should restore/setup as new and rejailbreak with redsn0w 0.9.10b4 that also fixes itunes
     
  5. izzyfanto

    izzyfanto New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    so I'd be SOL if 5.1 was out right now? what if I stitched blob to IPSW through redsn0w? should I never install Corona overtop a untethered redsn0w?

    Sent from my iPhone using iPF.net
     
  6. Jmills87

    Jmills87 New Member Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    3,646
    Likes Received:
    160
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Land of Ice and Snow
    As long as you have your 5.0.1 SHSH you can always downgrade back to 5.0.1.
     
  7. iMarilina

    iMarilina New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    From Orlando, FL to Greece!
    You could once the shsh blobs for 5.0.1 become usable....they are not yet
     
  8. iMarilina

    iMarilina New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    From Orlando, FL to Greece!
    You didnt need corona on top of an untethered. Corona was for tethered
     
  9. Jmills87

    Jmills87 New Member Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    3,646
    Likes Received:
    160
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Land of Ice and Snow
    Only for A5 devices, for A4 and earlier devices, SHSH can already be used with Redsn0w.

    Redsn0w and Corona are two completely different jailbreaking methods. Corona is only for devices that were previously running a tethered jailbreak. If you used Corona initially to become untethered you just needed to update the Corona package to fix iBooks. If you use Redsn0w to jailbreak, you should have just run the new Redsn0w version over the top of your current jailbreak and unchecked the "install cydia" option to fix iBooks.
     
  10. iMarilina

    iMarilina New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    From Orlando, FL to Greece!
    Can be used for what? You dont need them since ios 5.0.1 is still signed though. We dont know if they are usable, i think we will only know once the official 5.1 comes put and Apple stops signing 5.0.1.
     
  11. Jmills87

    Jmills87 New Member Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    3,646
    Likes Received:
    160
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Land of Ice and Snow
    They are usable. That is what the IPSW stitching tool in Redsn0w was specifically designed for. Downgrading requires a bootrom exploit which already exists on A4 and lower devices.
     
  12. izzyfanto

    izzyfanto New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks very much for the clarification! very relieved to know the stitch feature is functional for 5.0.1.

    it's unfortunate, I didn't know I needed to uncheck Cydia.

    another reason I installed Corona is because IntelliScreenX wasn't downloading the license, and their FAQ Said to download Corona. any idea for a workaround?

    Sent from my iPhone using iPF.net
     
  13. camrondrake55

    camrondrake55 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had this same problem and found my own way of fixing it. Go to ifile and go to the directory vvar/lib/dpkg/info. once here you can see that it has all the packages u have installed listed. all u have to do, and it takes patience, is write down all the packages and what source they were installed from. the go to cydia and re-install all of them. u may think its a hard process but us with a iphone 5 and not wanting to lose are jailbreak its worth it. its just as if u r reinstalling all of the packages. it does not affect anything with the package or its setting. it just fixes them not showing up in cydia. hope this helps
     

Share This Page



Search tags for this page
cydia doesn't show installed
,
cydia not showing installed packages
,
cydia not showing packages
,

cydia not showing up after jailbreak

,
cydia not showing up after jailbreak with evasi0n
,
cydia package not coming up on phone
,

cydia packages not showing up

,
installed packages not showing in cydia
,
jailbreaking phone and apple apps not appearing
,
why cydia not showing packages