App Cache Clear?

Discussion in 'iPhone Apps' started by hollywood90, Mar 31, 2012.

  1. hollywood90
    Offline

    hollywood90 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Boise, ID
    Facebook: 1.65GB
    Instagram: 1.3GB
    Spotify: .98GB (Offline Mode IS disabled on ALL playlists)
    Tweetdeck: 768MB

    INSANE amount of space taken up on my phone for all these apps. Leaving me with less and less room for other goodies. So, my question is, is there any way to clear the app cache for these apps? Only options I get in Settings is to delete the whole app. (Mind you, it DOES delete the cached memory, but it ALSO deletes the whole app, which is HIGHLY undesirable.)

    Any help is greatly appreciated! :D
  2. zig9449
    Offline

    zig9449 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Messages:
    3,209
    Likes Received:
    104
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    No man. Sorry. All that data just builds up. really no way to clear it w/o reinstalling the app. If you were jailbroken you could with MobileTerminal. But I suspect your not jailbroken.
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2012
  3. Mickey330
    Offline

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,698
    Likes Received:
    218
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    western NY state (USA)
    This is something new to me - how do you remove all the apps data with Mobile Terminal?

    Might be easier than uninstalling/reinstalling an app...

    TIA.

    Marilyn
  4. hollywood90
    Offline

    hollywood90 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Boise, ID
    Yeah, I can't til they release a jailbreak for 5.1 on the 4S. A5 is great, unless you're a hacker.... :/
  5. hollywood90
    Offline

    hollywood90 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Boise, ID
    When a jailbreak becomes available, is there an app out there to clear app cached data or anything? Or what IS the commands to enter into the Mobile Terminal app?
  6. zig9449
    Offline

    zig9449 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Messages:
    3,209
    Likes Received:
    104
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    First you have to install "MobileTerminal (NEW)". If it does not say MobileTerminal (NEW) it won't work.

    You have to install a script from Cydia. You have to add a repo first. A repo I'm not allowed to name here. Same thing with MobileTerminal

    The script is called CUC (clean up crap)

    Open Terminal log in as root, and type cuc, then press return.
  7. hollywood90
    Offline

    hollywood90 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Boise, ID
    Are you allowed to PM me it? Or, what might one search the interwebs for to get this forbidden repo? o_O

    Or is that still pretty much He-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named status? (Hint: his name rhymes with raldabort)
  8. Mickey330
    Offline

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,698
    Likes Received:
    218
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    western NY state (USA)
    Never mind, then. I don't want to go into repos that are piracy-related.

    And neither should any of you...!



    Marilyn
  9. zig9449
    Offline

    zig9449 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Messages:
    3,209
    Likes Received:
    104
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    Lol. ...............

Share This Page