To register for an account, click here...
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    2
    Member #
    5679

    Unhappy Can't upgrade baseband after TinyUmbrella 4.1 install & Greenpois0n JB

    Hey,

    I jailbroke yesterday after running Tiny Umbrella to keep 1.59 baseband and upgrading from 4.02 to 4.1. That was all successfull.

    Today I realize my WiFi distance is crap. I kinda remember it not being that great since I went from 3Gs to 4 but it is real bad now.

    I do some research and hear that others have had the same issue, JB or not.

    I compare distances against my Jailbroken 3Gs and the JB'n 4. 3Gs goes twice as far. My 4 even gives out 1 floor up in my house.

    I call Apple, tell them, yes I have restored, yes, yes, yes. They say, OK take this case number down, go to an Apple store they will swap it for you. Great, make appt for 1 hour from then. Start the process of restoring to original 4.1 (I know I will get a new iPhone with 4.1, but a new one with 4.1 with which WiFi works is better then a JB one with the old baseband that WiFi does not).

    ANYWAY, I have restored through recover mode 4 times and DFU mode twice and each time it finishes, it gives me an error that it could not restore my phone. It has restored, but not the baseband. So sometimes with the 1004 error. My TinyUmbrella is all closed. I am totally using iTunes and IT'S OWN 4.1 download. But I do use TU to get it out of recovery mode at the end of the restore and check it after it activates and AGAIN each time 1.59 baseband.

    Others are having same issue on ModMyi.

    Anyone see this? Anyone? I cannot take it back to Apple like this. Are we all screwed?
    Last edited by aweinman; 10-14-2010 at 07:47 PM.



  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Lubbock, TX
    Posts
    2,736
    Member #
    317
    Liked
    21 times
    I dont think they are going to care if the baseband is upgraded or not.... Just play dumb lol.....
    iPhone4 keeps me in touch with my woman. Whats more important? Nothing.
    Everything is Bigger in TEXAS!!

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    2
    Member #
    5679
    Found problem with help if members on Modmyi. It seems that TU doea not always clean up the hosts file. So even though TU was not running the host file did not point to Apple. So os installed except for basebad just as if I had TU running.

    Anyway. If others find this post because they had problems at least they will know how to solve it quickly and easily. Just remove all apple lines from hosts file.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    45
    Member #
    2596
    you should use another computer to do your restore!!!!

    i have heard that it works!!!

    let me know if it works...


Home | Forum | Active Topics | What's New

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. baseband
    By donnied in forum iPhone Jailbreaking
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-10-2010, 07:46 PM
  2. ios 4.1 - greenpois0n
    By coldkilla in forum iPhone Jailbreaking
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-05-2010, 08:16 PM
  3. baseband 02.10.04
    By edson.costa in forum iPhone Jailbreaking
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-17-2010, 06:00 AM
  4. greenpois0n
    By clavz17 in forum iPhone Jailbreaking
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-26-2010, 08:36 PM
  5. Upgrade Iphone 4 FW 4.0.2 to 4.1 PRESERVING baseband?
    By mimimimimi in forum iPhone Jailbreaking
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-09-2010, 10:06 PM

Search tags for this page

after restored baseband changed from 1.59 to 4.10
,
can green poison be restored
,

can i upgrade iphone after jailbreaking

,

can't upgrade iphone baseband

,

cant upgrade baseband

,
does greenpois0n change baseband
,
does greenpoison 6 change baseband
,
green poison upgrade baseband
,
greenpois0n upgrade error
,
greenpoison panic we are hanging
,
greenpoison upgrade baseband to what?
,
how to upgrade baseband iphone 3gs greenpois0n
,
iphone can't activate after upgrade to 5
,
iphone restore cannot upgrade baseband
,
what upgrading baseband do
Click on a term to search for related topics.